Have you ever been sent a message on Facebook that’s been sent to a whole bunch of people? And then every time someone responds to the message, you get another notification that has nothing to do with you?
Until recently, there was nothing you could do about it. But recently Facebook has quietly added a feature that allows you to remove yourself from these message threads. You have to have the new Messages interface to access it, but it’s great.
Here’s what to do.
- Navigate to your list of messages. You can do this from the Messages link on the left side of your Facebook home page, or from the message notification icon at the top-left of your Facebook screen.
- Click on the message thread that you want to be removed from. This will open that individual message. (It’s important to open the message first. If you skip this step, you won’t see the button in the next step.)
- In the upper-right section of the screen, above the message, you will see two buttons. One is labeled Actions. Click this button.
- From the Actions drop-down menu, select “Leave Conversation.”
- You will receive no further notifications on that message.
You’re welcome. 🙂