The Etiquette of Facebook Groups

This past week I’ve been added to 3 different Facebook groups without my knowledge or consent. Now if you’ve read what I’ve written in the past about Facebook Groups, you know that as soon as you add someone to a Facebook group, they start getting emails and notifications about all group activity. Imagine how overwhelming that can become if you aren’t expecting it!

So here are some things to keep in mind if you’re planning to set up a Facebook Group:

  1. Always tell someone ahead of time, before adding them to a group. The best thing to do is to ask the person if it’s OK to add them. But at the very least, let them know in an email or other communication that they will be added, and what they can expect.
  2. Make sure people you add know how to leave the group (by clicking the leave group link), and turn off all the emails (by clicking the Edit Settings button). At least I knew how to leave the groups I was added to easily. If people don’t know how to leave a group, the notifications and emails can very quickly become overwhelming, alienating that person.
  3. Make sure people know what the group is about. If you’re added to a group without any notice, you have no idea why you would even want to be part of the group. This goes back to rule #1…give people a heads up before adding them. People need to understand the value of your group if they’re going to want to be a part of it.

Groups can be valuable when everyone understands the purpose of the group, and is committed to participating. But don’t just add people to your group without permission. Otherwise you risk alienating them. And that’s a waste of time.

How do you use Facebook Groups for your business? How do you manage adding people? Would love to read your thoughts in the comments!

5 Responses to The Etiquette of Facebook Groups
  1. Chris
    September 24, 2011 | 5:31 pm

    Several of my peers and I formed a group of potential leaders in our company. We invite them via email to join if they meet certain criteria for leadership futures. They enjoy the camaraderie of peers and mentoring of top leaders in our company. Several leaders agree to monitor the group one day per week to keep things fresh and moving in positive directions.

  2. Lori Adams
    May 26, 2011 | 1:09 pm

    If i want to post on say the Arbonne website, but i don’t want it to post to my personal page, is there a way to do that? Also, i belong to a “one day” page where consultants tell what they do every day (or once a week etc.) i’m getting overwhelmed with those emails…from people i don’t really know. i want to be able to go read what they’re writing and i want to write on the page, but again i don’t want it on my personal site. so two questions, can you take your name off for getting emails and still be a fan and can you post on other websites without having it on your own page.
    thanks for any advice! lori

  3. Rhena Lindsey
    May 25, 2011 | 6:09 pm

    Thanks, so very much for your input and tips. I need to learn your social media helps. I am so new at this.

  4. NooraK
    May 25, 2011 | 11:05 am

    I think the new format of the groups would lend itself well to Team communication. You get notices of updates (on the side if you opt out of email), but they don’t necessarily clog your News Feed.

    I did choose to leave several groups I had joined long ago, but there are a couple that I remain a member of, and I believe the format works great for the type of communication these groups require.

    As for adding, if I were to create a group for my Team (once I build it a bit), I would inquire any new consultants if they are on FB, and then let them know I would like to “friend” them and add them to the group during one of our in-person or phone training sessions.

  5. Lisa Kurtz
    May 25, 2011 | 10:51 am

    I have been added to several groups recently as well and thought I was being added without consent until this message appeared at the top of an old group that I was the creator of.

    ‘Over the next few months, Facebook will be archiving all groups created using the old groups format. When this group is archived, its wall posts, photos and discussion threads will move to the new groups format, but group members will need to be re-added.’

    It helped me realize that I had joined these groups in the past, but had forgotten. And now they were simply re adding me to the new format.

    Whether we are re adding, or adding new people – you are right, they need to be informed about the new group format and how it’s different.

    thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply


Wanting to leave an <em>phasis on your comment?

CommentLuv badge

Trackback URL http://www.jenfongspeaks.com/the-etiquette-of-facebook-groups/trackback/